The Greater Fort Lauderdale Chapter of PRSA invites you to an extremely important program that will significantly enhance your value as a public relations professional. You should give serious consideration to obtaining your Accreditation in Public Relations (APR).

The APR credential is valuable to those practitioners who earn it and to the agencies, clients, and organizations they represent. It is also most important to the public relations profession itself, according to PRSA national.

APR Professionals Find Accreditation To

    • Be a source of pride (91%)
    • Develop professional skills (78%)
    • Provide personal benefit (75%)
    • Help resolve ethical dilemmas (58%)


Location of Classes: Broward County Aviation Department, 2200 Southwest 45th Street, Suite 101, Dania Beach, FL 33312.

Who Can Attend: PRSA members from all chapters are welcome to attend.

To read testimonials from APRs, go to

2017 APR Class Schedule



March 1


Introduction to the APR Process (other alternatives, what to expect, tips, etc.)

March 8

Exact Time TBD

Research, Planning, Implementing and Evaluating Programs

Discuss PR campaign for the Panel Presentation

March 15

Research, Planning, Implementing and Evaluating Programs

Discuss PR campaign for the Panel Presentation

March 22

Applying Ethics and Law

Discuss Panel Presentation Questionnaire

March 29

Managing Issues and Crisis Communications

April 5

Understanding Communication Models and Theories and History of the Profession

April 12

Leading the Public Relations Functions

April 19

Managing Relationships

Discuss Panel Presentation Scoring Form


Submit APR Application with payment to PRSA National


Submit your Panel Presentation Questionnaire and PR Plan via email in PDF format


Receive notice from Nation of application approval and eligibility for the Panel Presentation and exam


Panel Presentations before three APRs. Location to be determined.


Within 2-3 weeks of Panel Presentation's recommendation, PRSA sends notification of Advance or Not Advance status.


Schedule the APR exam


Take and Pass the Exam (within one year of application approval) 



Class Location:

Broward County Aviation Department
2200 Southwest 45th Street, Suite 101
Dania Beach, FL 33312

Introductory Session: Wednesday, March 1, 6 – 7 p.m.

Other Sessions: Wednesdays from 5:30 – 7:30 p.m. (Starting time to be determined by candidates)

Scholarships Available

PRSA Greater Fort Lauderdale Chapter offers a $275 scholarship to cover the exam fee. PRSA National also offers a $110 rebate. The chapter scholarship and national rebate to each successful candidate cover all of the APR exam fees. With the free classes, scholarship, and rebate, you can obtain this career-enhancing accreditation at no cost.

If you have questions, contact:

Accreditation Chair
Allan Siegel, M.S., APR                             

Accreditation Co-Chair
Gary Brooten, APR
954- 217-7009

To register: Send an email to Allan Siegel at or call 954-359-6978.  

A Wealth of APR Information on PRSA’s Website: If you would like to read more about the value of an APR, there is a wealth of information on national’s website. Please visit


PRSA Greater Fort Lauderdale Chapter - Accreditation

The Accredited in Public Relations (APR) credential is valuable to those practitioners who earn it; to the agencies, clients and organizations they represent; and, perhaps most importantly, to the public relations profession itself.  Learn how you can become one of the profession's most stand-out practitioners by visiting

PRSA Greater Fort Lauderdale Chapter members (past and present) who have earned the APR credential:

Victor Aimi, APR

Catherine B. Ahles, APR, Fellow PRSA

Kelly Leigh Allen, APR

J.W. Arnold, APR, Fellow PRSA

Leslie J. Backus, APR

Kerting Baldwin, PhD, APR

Gary E. Bitner, APR

Gary Brooten, Ph.D., APR

Colette A. Claxton, APR

Scott Colton, APR

Ellen Crane, APR

Brian D. Croswhite, APR

Janet L. Del Pinal, APR

Ron G. Drew, APR

Lauren F. Dunaj, APR

Anne F. French, APR

Maggie Gunther, APR

Brandon Hensler, APR

William E. Husted, APR

Jeremy M. Katzman, APR

Andrea B. Knibbs, APR

Kim G. Laffont, APR

Linda C. Lahey

Debbie A. Mason, APR, Fellow PRSA

Merrie Elyn Meyers, Ph.D., APR, Fellow PRSA

Eugene Miller, APR, Fellow PRSA

Janet E. Oppenheimer, APR, Fellow PRSA

Stu Opperman, APR

Margaret M. Poole, APR

Carolyn Margaret Popescu

Nina A. Randall, APR

Mary A. Riedel, ABC, APR

Andrew J. Rubin, APR

Joy A. Satterlee, APR

Ellen Crane Schulman, APR

Cindy Schutt, APR

Allan Siegel, APR

Jennifer Smith, APR

Marsy L. Smith, APR

Bernard Lipskin, APR

Katie G. Foster, APR

Sandra A. Richards, APR

Beth H. Swanson, MBA, APR

Shannon D. Vezina, APR